SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Foreign Registered Vessel - How long can I stay in MD before I need to leave the US (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/75684-foreign-registered-vessel-how-long-can-i-stay-md-before-i-need-leave-us.html)

Pierre Bouvery 06-27-2011 01:40 PM

Foreign Registered Vessel - How long can I stay in MD before I need to leave the US

I am a non US resident. I have a European passport, and own a BVI registered sail boat. By June next year, I want to sail from BVI to Annapolis, leave the boat there for about 2-2 1/2 months to travel across the US, and then leave the US to sail the boat to Europe. Although I will have tourist visa (for Europeans it is valid up to 3 months), can I leave/park the boat that long in MD, or does it create an issue? Is there any particular documentation/permit needed? Is there any associated cost/local tax?

Grateful for any information on the subject.

paulk 06-27-2011 03:07 PM

I hear that the USCG issues one-year permits for visiting boats whose paperwork is in order. To determine what you need, check the U.S. Customs & Border Patrol site. For starters: https://help.cbp.gov/app/answers/det...3D%3D/search/1 The price I saw was about $28.00
Bonne visite!

hellosailor 06-27-2011 03:42 PM

Pierre, you will need a US federal cruising permit to bring the boat into the US. That's good for one year, not a minute longer. At that point the boat must leave the US for 15(?) days and you may apply for a new permit good for another year, which may or may not be granted.

Regarding state laws, I don't think you'll find any limits on your stays. For a US-documented vessel there are issues with registration and sales tax, sometimes in as little as 90 days, but for a foreign-flagged vessel that should not be an issue.