Foreign Registered Vessel - How long can I stay in MD before I need to leave the US - SailNet Community

Search Sailnet:

forums  store  

Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2011

Pierre Bouvery is on a distinguished road
Cool Foreign Registered Vessel - How long can I stay in MD before I need to leave the US

I am a non US resident. I have a European passport, and own a BVI registered sail boat. By June next year, I want to sail from BVI to Annapolis, leave the boat there for about 2-2 1/2 months to travel across the US, and then leave the US to sail the boat to Europe. Although I will have tourist visa (for Europeans it is valid up to 3 months), can I leave/park the boat that long in MD, or does it create an issue? Is there any particular documentation/permit needed? Is there any associated cost/local tax?

Grateful for any information on the subject.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-27-2011

paulk is on a distinguished road
I hear that the USCG issues one-year permits for visiting boats whose paperwork is in order. To determine what you need, check the U.S. Customs & Border Patrol site. For starters: https://help.cbp.gov/app/answers/det...3D%3D/search/1 The price I saw was about $28.00
Bonne visite!
Old 06-27-2011
Plausible Deniability

hellosailor has a spectacular aura about hellosailor has a spectacular aura about