Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2011

smoothspeedfour is on a distinguished road
Sailing Career..?

Hello,

First I am new to the forum and sailing and I just wanted to say that I am glad this website exists. I am currently an undergrad at University of WI but am having my doubts about that route through life. I am very interested in sailing and traveling and would like to become a crew member beginning either around the start of 2012 or in mid may. Is there any one out there that is making a living doing this and wants to tell me about what is good/bad about it? I have next to no experience, but would LOVE to gain some.

Thanks you!

Joe
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-28-2011

OtterGreen is on a distinguished road
first step would be to get your Able Seaman cert. this would allow for you to be a crew member on a commercial vessel. from there it is getting sea time. when you reach 360 days of sea or something to that effect you can take the class online or in person to get your 6pack. from there it just keeps going up with licenses and more time building. the list goes on and on.

Last edited by OtterGreen; 07-28-2011 at 01:59 PM.
Old 07-28-2011

kd3pc is on a distinguished road
you can make a living, and at your age, work should be readily available..commercial work, you will need deck card of some sort, twic card, and safety/fire training...often hard physical work in all weather, and you will be on board weeks at a time, sometimes months.