Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree18Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2011
Move over Joan Rivers!

deniseO30 will become famous soon enough deniseO30 will become famous soon enough
Why Crusiers Won't change RF headsails

Me included, yet I know it's really not that difficult or hard to change. But really! We almost never have good wind around here (my excuse)

Example; (not anyone WE know) ;
"Eh, trashed my 150 last week, shoulda used the storm sail when I knew that squall was headed my way"

my current "project"!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-31-2011

tommays will become famous soon enough
I am new at this rolling stuff BUT with a profurl R25 with foam luff 150 which rolls down to a really small size and still moves the boat fine and a hood furling stoboom which so far rolls down to match and balance the boat in a steady 20 knots with much higher gusts

I don't change the sail because it involves TWO stupid small shackles that have 100% of getting lost
deniseO30 likes this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1981 J24 Tangent 2930
Tommays
Northport NY

If a dirty bottom slows you down what do you think it does to your boat
Old 07-31-2011

sck5 is on a distinguished road
Why is RF so popular in the first place? So you dont have to keep changing headsails all the time. If I wanted to be raising and lowering headsails every time the wind changed or a squall went by I would get hank on sails.
Old 07-31-2011
Mermaid Hunter

SVAuspicious will become famous soon enough
Did a sail change today sailing with a friend on her boat. What's the big deal? dumped the 135 for a drifter.