Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-03-2011

ponycakes is on a distinguished road
Amateur Sailor Seeks Advice

I am a very amateur sailor. My boyfriend and I have been practicing sailing about one day per week on the Willamette and Columbia Rivers for the last year on our Newport 27. We have read a few books and watched some videos. Our plan is to sail from Portland, Oregon, to Cabo San Lucas and then up in to the Sea of Cortez. Neither of us have been on the ocean in a boat before. Our Newport is from 1972; we got it very cheap and have made some upgrades, but have pretty basic gear in general. We've often heard that you need at least a 30 foot boat to cruise the Pacific. Thoughts? Advice? Any info would be appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-03-2011

dabnis is on a distinguished road
Not familiar with your particular boat, but some things in general: Do a very thorough inspection of everything. If it has an inboard double check all the hose connections, wiring, fuel filters, belts, and so on. if possible, inspect the inside of the tank, especially if it is diesel. My biggest recommendation is to find and hire, if necessary, an experienced person and do some trial runs inside and then outside. If you haven't already done so take a navigation course and use all of the navigation tools you can afford. Generally the best weather along the coast is from about the first of July to about the last of September. Even going "downhill" it can be really rough at any time of year but especially so in the winter months. Watch the weather as the ports you may want to come in to can break when it is rough. Be carefully, not a trip to be taken lightly, at any time of the year.

Dabnis
Thestar likes this.
Old 08-03-2011