SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Hurricane Irene advice (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/77818-hurricane-irene-advice.html)

Cruiser2B 08-22-2011 04:24 PM

Lets hope the forcasters are wrong as they are just about 90% of the time. I am in Norfolk, Va and I am really paying close attention. I am new to keeping boats at the marina, all of previous sailboats have been on trailers. I was at the marina this morning and no one seemed overly alarmed.......:confused: I was thinking about posting as well. Looking forward to hearing from the experienced.

leogallant 08-22-2011 07:17 PM

Hurricane Irene advice

Not sure if this is the right area, but couldn't find a specific thread on the topic of hurricane preparedness.
With Irene possibly imminent here in Charleston SC on Friday night, what would you suggest as a couple possible plans to minimize damage. 30' Newport and currently in a slip. When Hugo came through in the 80's, boats from this marina ended up as far inland on shore as a mile. Would you suggest going up river as far as possible, and double anchoring off the bow?

Thanks, much appreciated!

billyruffn 08-22-2011 10:53 PM

Can you haul the boat? Are you insured? What's the wind pattern likely to be? Same as Hugo or different? Lots of relevant questions. I'd suggest you find someone who's been through it before to advise you -- a harbor master, fisherman, commercial operator of some sort.....what are they doing? Ask them about your plan.

I'm on a mooring in Provincetown, MA and because I'm going to a wedding in Chicago over the weekend and may not be back until the storm hits, here's what I did today:

1. removed jib and staysail from furlers
2. lashed the main under it's sail cover with several lines
3. secured all haulyards and lazy jacks to the mast to minimize chafe/windage