Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2011

Stearmandriver is on a distinguished road
White Type IV PFD... Safe?

I recognize this is gonna sound real nit-picky. I am not obsessive by nature over small details, but I've been an airline pilot for enough years to know that SOME things warrant attention.

So then... we recently put a new type IV on the boat. It's a white ring. I voted against this, but it isn't my boat.

My dad likes it because it looks better than a yellow or orange ring hanging off the boat. I'm of the opinion that safety gear is one area you may not want to let aesthetics be your guide.

Anyone with experience with these... how visible would this thing actually be, if it were ever needed to be used as intended? Seems to me, if someone goes over, it's probably in rough water. By the time the boat is turned around (sure, that'll be quick, but still)... how much will one spot of white stand out, in a rough sea that's probably full of (moving) spots of white?

My plan is to just replace it with the big old yellow horsecollar any time the waves get up.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-29-2011

KiteRider is on a distinguished road
I've never had an actually MOB (only drills), but I've always been told and subscribe to the theory that rings and horseshoes are more for looks. We always keep the square cushion style throwables handy for actual MOB use.

I also have on my boat a throw rope in a weighted bag. It's actually designed for whitewater use, and that's what I bought it for, but seems it would be just as useful at sea.
Old 08-29-2011
Once known as Hartley18

Classic30 will become famous soon enough Classic30 will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stearmandriver View Post