limits of a ds 20 - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-04-2011 Thread Starter

limits of a ds 20

Hi there folks! I'm quite new to sailing and recently bought a 1975 ds 20, which seems like a fairly good beginner boat. I'm looking forward to taking a sailing course next spring, but in the meantime I know enough to enjoy myself in light winds(10-15km/hr). However, I'm nervous about the heeling the boat does, even in these winds, and I'm anxious about capsizing it! I'm aware that much of this is learned through experience, but does anybody else feel this way? I've also heard that my boat(keelboat, short draft) will heel until the mast touches the water and STILL right itself. Has anyone actually experienced this?
Thanks for your replies!
Ben
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 09-04-2011
s/v Ilya

I'm the same way you are. I know in theory that the boat is highly unlikely to capsize, and on those occasions when I just let go of the tiller, the boat rights itself every time. But that doesn't prevent me gettin' the bejeezus scared out of me when I heel at 15 degrees or more. I know, seasoned sailors are sayin'
"what a sailing wimp," but that's how I am at the moment. And no, I've never gotten my mast anywhere near touching the water.

Folks tell me it just takes time and patience to get over this. One thing people have also told me is to be sure my sails are well balanced. Something I've got to do before the fall (I guess that's now, huh?) is install my jiffy reefing system so I can modify how much of the main is up and try different combinations with the roller furling jib. Sooner or later, I hope to become comfortable enough that a little 15 degree heel is just getting started.

Ilya's Adventures:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 7 Old 09-04-2011 Thread Starter