Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By RichH
  • 1 Post By halatencio

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2011

G20 is on a distinguished road
Reef points

Hello all,

I am a noob sailor and have recently aquired my first boat after many years of dingy sailing and bumming rides from others.

My boat is a 1985 Gloucester 20 and I have two good sets of sails that came with the boat, one used but in good shape and one that has never been used. Bonus!

Both mains have one reef point, or at least what I would consider the first/only reef point, that is about three and a half feet off the foot. My question is why on both sails is there another set of tack/clew grommets about 1 foot above the foot of the main with no reef points between them? IS this actually the first reef point but there is not enough sail to worry about strapping down the middle of the sail to the boom? This just seems like an incredibly small reduction in sail area, perhaps I am wrong, but am none the less curious as to what these should/would be used for.

Thanks for any advice, I am been a longtime reader of Sailnet and am happy to finally be posting.

-G20
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-06-2011
Barquito

Barquito is on a distinguished road
The first grommet is for the cunningham (pulls the luff of the sail down).
Old 09-06-2011

Thank Barquito.... the cunningham makes perfect sense at the luff but I don't get why there is also a cringle at the same height, a foot or so off the boom, at the leech of the sail as well.
Old 09-06-2011

RichH will become famous soon enough