Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2011

genkinyc is on a distinguished road
New boat purchase in NC to home in NYC/NJ ?

Hi, I'm hoping to purchase a 30ft with a 5.3 draft that is docked in North Carolina.

I'm looking for advice on how to get her back up to the NYC/NJ area.

I have some beginner experience on rental sailboats. We both have ASA basic keelboat, basic coastal cruising and some navigation skills.

A leisurely motor up the ICW looks to be the safest option. It would be a first time for such a journey and I'd prefer to sail as much as possible.

Looks like we would have to go offshore for the Jersey part of the trip.

I looked into the offshore option from NC but I don't think that I would have enough experience. Perhaps with a delivery captain for a few days but I'm not sure how that would work out - maybe as far as Cape May or something like that. Sounds expensive.

Crew is myself and the missus, she has equal experience.

Looking for advice - what would you do? Or perhaps this is crazy?

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 10-21-2011
Wandering Aimlessly

PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about
Your biggest concern, at this point in time, is weather. Also, your inexperience with living on a boat. My suggestion would be, if you have the time, is to spend a few days on the boat, before committing to the trip. Then decide if you're up to doing it, or it would be better to have it delivered.

Free, is the heart, that lives not, in fear.
Full, is the spirit, that thinks not, of falling.
True, is the soul, that hesitates not, to give.
Alive, is the one, that believes, in love.
JCP