Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-28-2011

safetyteach is on a distinguished road
Safety lesson

I am a safety instructor and auditor for major industrial construction sites. This is what I do with my life. I watch and teach others so that no one gets hurt or worse. I like what I do and have seen accidents avoided and attitudes improve over all. I take my job seriously and will not hesitate to send any one home who is not conducting themself in a safe manor.
Having said that, a a few months ago I ended up with a Cal 27 from a friend who was moving to Colorado. I decided to buy it for next to nothing so I could fix it up a little and give to my teenage son to start off his life on the water with out me.
I needed to take the boat from Galveston Bay to Freeport Texas. I was expecting a ten to twelve hour trip. The wife and I were enjoying the day and I was proud watching her tack and tie lines. My wife had really been trying to get good at sailing and it was starting to show. The trip was short lived as the main sheet ripped in to tatters. I whent to fire up the ole Atomic 4 but she just wouldnt start. The wife asked me a minute later if the bilge was supposed to be full of gass. " Hi, BoatU.S........"
Two weeks later I tried the trip again solo. The weather reports were all good ( Liars!) As I entered the jeddies the engine died but thats okay, I kinda expected it. The new used main was up though a little bigger than I thought, oh well, what could that hurt?