SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   boat living question for someone green (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/80979-boat-living-question-someone-green.html)

businessonly805 11-21-2011 04:33 AM

boat living question for someone green

im pretty new to sailing and am thinking of living aboard a 29 foot sailboat.

i do have some questions that i dont have answered yet, and they are the following:

i've never been in a marina and have no idea how they operate really..i know about slips however, lets say im cruising down to Los Angeles Ca and i need to pick up a friend to take them on a ride out to catalina island...where would i park my boat without a slip? is there like a loading zone where boats can load and unload for free? if not, are there any decent places in the los angeles area where i can anchor off and just ride a dhingy? also, for showers, lets say i just want a shower...is there a place to park for like a 30 minute shower? the reason i ask these questions is because i want to have someone living aboard who works in the city...the problems with this are the showers and drop off and pickup. if i can solve the drop off and pickup and shower problem, then im pretty sure i can live the sailing life.

xymotic 11-21-2011 04:44 AM

There are public docks in Marina Del Rey, as well as plenty of docks with public access such as the boat launch. You cannot stay there without paying, but you certainly can land and do a quick pick up. All they can do is tell you to move along.

You can also anchor out, but it's not a great anchorage. But if you want 'long term' you need to get a slip, and it's not easy in MDR or Redondo but further south in San Pedro/long beach it might be more doable.

businessonly805 11-21-2011 06:41 AM