Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2011

California Republic is on a distinguished road
Sailing from Los Angeles to S America

Ive been sailing for 10 years but am really only an amateur. Just going out on day trips around San Diego bay or half day trips around the Marina in Los Angeles on rentals.

Ive had a dream my whole life of going farther ... very far. I looking to buy a used sail boat this month a70s era 27 boat with cabin I could take to S America, hug the coast on a seriously long trip for a couple of months with a friend or two in January.

How long would it realistically take to get to Columbia? Ive heard around 30 days... has anyone here done it?

Can someone please advise on sleeping in open-water at night? Ive only done day trips.. where would i learn more about this subject?

What dangers do I realistically face and what supplies are absolutely necessary? Lift raft and radar i know are important any suggestions?

Has anyone on here actually done this long of a trip on a smaller vessel??

Last edited by California Republic; 11-30-2011 at 02:54 AM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-30-2011

steel is on a distinguished road
I was talking to California Republic in chat and I didn't really know how to find out well suited a particular boat is for blue water. I was thinking that a 25' boat would most likely not be suitable for such a trip. Then we talked about a 27' Catalina and a 33' ferro cement.

This 25' looks like day sailor to me ...
25' sail boat

Catalina 27' Useable but not the best for blue water?
Catalina 27 Sail Boat with New Motor

33' Ferro Cement: I thought this one would be fine once fixed.
1975 Ferro Cement Sailboat Sail Boat For Sale - www.yachtworld.com