SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   How to order charts? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/82835-how-order-charts.html)

synapse 01-18-2012 10:08 AM

How to order charts?

Hi - I am relatively new to sailing since last summer and figure it is about time to order a few charts. I have my boat currently in Oriental, NC (Pamlico sound).

Specifically, I have found NOAA charts 11552 and 11550 to be approximately the right area. I know I can order them on the internet, but they are HUGE! at 36inchesx44inches, that seems kinda large to take out on my boat (22 foot sailboat) and use as a reference.

Is there another option that I am missing? Not to mention, the NOAA charts are somewhat expensive (or maybe I'm just being cheap :)

Also - do you have a recommended online retailer to purchase them from?

Thank you for your time,
Synapse

kwaltersmi 01-18-2012 10:31 AM

Here's some options:

Try a chartbook from a source like MapTech: Maptech: Marine books and charts, topo maps, and navigation software

Try NOAA's BookletChart or PocketCharts (basically foldable versions of the originals)

Paper charts are always good to have onboard, but you might consider an investment into a digital format (chartplotter, iPad, netbook, etc.) if you plan to stay in the game longterm.

JoeDiver 01-18-2012 10:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by synapse (Post 818234)
..... but they are HUGE! at 36inchesx44inches, that seems kinda large to take out on my boat (22 foot sailboat) and use as a reference.......

So, fold them! They are paper ya know.

DRFerron 01-19-2012 07:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by synapse (Post 818234)
I know I can order them on the internet, but they are HUGE! at 36inchesx44inches, that seems kinda large to take out on my boat (22 foot sailboat) and use as a reference.