Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2012
Sailing the Salish Sea

Mystic1 is on a distinguished road
Sand Heads BC Concerns

Firstly, greetings to all. Am new to the forums (although I've stopped by here many times in my non-registerred status).

I just bought an older 27' US Yacht which currently sits at Reed Point Marina in Port Moody. I need to vacate that slip by the end of March and move the boat to Captains Cove Marina in Delta (Fraser South Arm) where I have moorage. Problem is, although I did quite a bit of sailing from age 10-20, that was over 30 years ago so am a pinch rusty. In addition, I have no boating experience on the Strait, most my local boating being done on the North Arm and on inland lakes on my 19' mototboat.

I've been hearing some scary stories about the mouth of the river and Sand Heads. So much so that, although I had originally hoped to make the trip solo sometime in mid-March, I am now thoroughly spooked at the prospect. I don't know anyone with experience whom I might ask to join me on the trip, so it looks like I have no choice but to go it alone. I would appreciate any tips from those of you familiar with, and experienced at sailing the area. I'm assuming the trip can be made in a day, but I understand that it is essential to time arrival at the river mouth with high tide. My boat is equipped with a 9.9hp outboard, and I now wonder if that might be a problem in the event I have to motor into the river (under powered?).