SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Proper Sail Lockers on Cruisers - Opinions Please

2K views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  PCP 
#1 ·
Hi All

Just sharing an observation and looking for opinions...

I have been studying interior layouts of a variety of boats between 30' and 50' and noticing that so few have a proper sail locker in the bow with direct access from the deck. I am new to sailing however it seems this feature would be worthwhile as a place to stow the multitude of gear associated with a long passage (sails + everything else) as well as a proper place to hang foulies.

I am inclined to think that sufficient provision could be made for sleeping arrangements via pullman berths in the aft. Am I discounting too heavily the value of the extra living space at the front of the boat? Is a sail locker too spartan a feature for cruising weeks or months at sea?

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated!
Gino

#2 ·
Hi All

Just sharing an observation and looking for opinions...

I have been studying interior layouts of a variety of boats between 30' and 50' and noticing that so few have a proper sail locker in the bow with direct access from the deck. I am new to sailing however it seems this feature would be worthwhile as a place to stow the multitude of gear associated with a long passage (sails + everything else) as well as a proper place to hang foulies.

I am inclined to think that sufficient provision could be made for sleeping arrangements via pullman berths in the aft. Am I discounting too heavily the value of the extra living space at the front of the boat? Is a sail locker too spartan a feature for cruising weeks or months at sea?

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated! Gino