Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2012

carld1388 is on a distinguished road
Sailing on the Upper Hudson - Albany

Hello,

Perhaps this is crazy but does anyone sail on the upper hudson aside from just passing through. I did the trip as a kid with my parents but I am now an adult resident of the Albany region and passionate about sailing. Buy a boat aside. Is is worth the time to keep a boat in the the albany area and sail the hudson (up and down)? At least I'd be able to sail on a regular basis.

The other options are to drive 3 hours to Lake Ontario, 3 hours to Lake george, or 3 hours to the Atlantic. Each one would significantly decrease the days I could spend on the boat.

Any thoughts about feasibility, worth-wild-ness would be greatly appreciated. Also, any suggesting as to where to keep a 22 - 32 foot sail boat near albany would be most helpful!

Thanks so much!

Carl
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-01-2012

KIVALO is on a distinguished road
Albany to Lake George is less than an hour, tops. What part of the Capitol Region are you in? There is also Ballston, Saratoga & Round lakes. I have only been on Ballston and Round when frozen but Saratoga is a nice lake to be on in the summer.
WORK IS OVER-RATED
Old 03-02-2012

Minnewaska will become famous soon enough Minnewaska will become famous soon enough
Having spent a summer boating on the lower Hudson as a kid, I can say that it gets fairly boring. I grew up there, although, our boat was normally on LI Sound. You go north or south, south or north, a little of both. Same thing every time. In Albany, the river is very narrow, so all the more limiting. Barge traffic is also a PITA when sailing, they have ROW.