Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By SlowButSteady
  • 1 Post By Faster
  • 1 Post By Roxy405

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2012
sunfish?junior?

Lou452 is on a distinguished road
help flying junior

I would like some help to figure out what I am doing and parts I need. I have just purchased a 1967 flying junior. made by Southern Ohio sail craft. It is just 13 feet the same length as my sunfish. It is missing the spinnaker cleats? No I do not even know how to sale with a jib. This is why I have purchased this boat for learning. It will be hard help me find all the parts but one of you may have had a boat like this at one time. I am new to sailing and am not near a large body of water, other boats or sailers. So many companies have manufactured this boat and the running rigging is kind of the same but different. If I had a new boat I would not have this problem. If I put all kinds of dents dings and scratches in a new boat I would not be happy. The problem of figuring out what I need is better. The empty holes in the gunwale at the stern are .25 of an inch dia. on 1.25 centers These I was told by the seller were missing spinnaker cleats? He never used it I am a long way off from putting one up but I do not like missing parts. Any Help?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-09-2012
Senior Slacker

SlowButSteady is on a distinguished road
Re: help flying junior

If you don't know how to handle a jib, I wouldn't worry about tackling a spinnaker for a while. Just leave the spinnaker hardware for later and sail the Bejeezus out of it as is. Chances are it will be plenty challenging just learning how to sail wing-on-wing for the time being.
Lou452 likes this.