Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Jeff_H
  • 2 Post By smackdaddy

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2012

peterchech is on a distinguished road
What's the deal with Bruce Roberts designs?

I am looking at a Bruce Roberts 35 center cockpit ketch for sale.

Boatplans ROBERTS 35

I would use it as a liveaboard with my girlfriend if I bought it. It seems to have a lot of interior space. It was homebuilt, and I know to get a survey, but I have some experience building small boats and I think I can spot whether it was done in a shoddy manner or not so I’d rather not get thread drift on the homebuilt issue.

I have read mixed reviews of Bruce Roberts’ boats in general. Some of his designs are outdated. Just looking at the hull shape and numbers this design does not look like a particularly fast or stiff boat to me, and I wouldn’t expect that a center cockpit boat would be in the performance category anyway. Since it would be a liveaboard, performance is not my number one concern. But I don’t want to own a bathtub either.

Does anyone know about this design, or about Bruce Roberts’ designs generally?

PS I did a forum search and found mixed comments but nothing about his 35 footer.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-18-2012
Super Fuzzy Moderator

tdw is a jewel in the rough tdw is a jewel in the rough tdw is a jewel in the rough
Re: What's the deal with Bruce Roberts designs?

As you wish, i'll ignore the variable build quality of Robert's designs and its pretty much obvious he does not have many original ideas but I've known plenty of folks with Robert's designs that have enjoyed a hell of a lot of sea miles.

“Give a man a fire and he's warm for a day, but set fire to him and he's warm for the rest of his life.” Terry Pratchett
Old 04-18-2012