Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2012

nolatom will become famous soon enough
Getting to masthead using someone else's mast..

I'd heard about this and saw a photo of it once, but hadn't done it--until I had to.

Subtitle:

"Remember, boys and girls, don't try this at home, I'm a trained professional, closed course/do not attempt, etc"

Halyard knot (not my knot, nor my boat, let me make that clear, ahem) on fractional rig came undone early in a late afternoon sail, main wriggles down the mast, halyard (internal) has disappeared into the mast. Oh joy.

How to fix it quick and get back out there? No dockside ladder or anything like that in the harbor.

Back to the slip, there's and adjacent-slip identical boat, same owner as the one I'm on, but *with* a main halyard. These boats aren't that big (2300 pounds, 24 feet) so not that "stiff" if you go up to the top, they'll heel some.

Anyway, after seeing that boat boats were tied up well, we connected jib halyards and winched the two mastheads together. Then crew cranked me up mast B so I could re-reeve the halyard (tied now to my belt) back into mast A.

It worked! The two masts/boats together were more stable than either would be separately, and the halyard did make its way down the inside of the mast without catching on anything, and we were able to fish it out the (very little) slot at the bottom of the mast.

Disadvantages:

the masts were no longer vertical so you have to clamp on with hands and legs at all times

didn't have a bosn chair so using a boat cushion as a chair leaves something to be desired

no redundant masthead halyard to use as a safety line/backup. I used the spinny halyard but that's useless above the fractional peak for that halyard