Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2012

Jemill is on a distinguished road
Battery & Breaker Configuration While Away

Hi All,
I'm still learning "how it works" with my first boat bigger that a day sailer and wonder what the best way to keep the refrigerator (house batteries) and air conditioner working while I'm away for a couple weeks at a time. The air is used in humidity control setting so it will come on every four hours. The fridge will have beer and sodas that I want to keep cold.

My logic tells me to keep the A.C. power on as well as the D.C. with the air cond., refrigerator and battery charger breakers on. I'm not sure about the battery switches. There are two house batteries and a starter. Are there any issues I should be aware of?

Thanks in advance.

Jeff
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-21-2012
Wannabe

dmcMaine is on a distinguished road
Re: Battery & Breaker Configuration While Away

Probably a dumb question but are you on shore power?
Old 05-21-2012
Plausible Deniability

hellosailor has a spectacular aura about hellosailor has a spectacular aura about

Jeff, I'd forget about the beer and sodas, leave the reefer turned off. It doesn't wear out, can't catch fire, can't run down your batteries, etc. while it is off. The beer and soda will get cold again when you get back. (Throw 'em in a mesh bag and drop 'em to the thermocline, they get cold real fast that way.)

The A/C...I don't know where you or are how bad the mildew gets but many folks would suggest the same thing, turn it off while you are gone. Install some solar fans and let the boat stay hot and ventilated till you come back, less can go wrong.