Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-21-2012

dylanwinter1 is on a distinguished road
Lobster pots

I have been doing KTL for five years now

Over that time I have got caught up in fishing gear - or the drifting remains of fishing gear - three times

I reckon it has cost me around £1500, the loss of ten weeks on the water and has been instrumental in me selling one boat and replacing it with one with an outboard in a well

I wonder if any of you could tell me what the fishing gear is like in your part of the world and how much getting entangled has cost you in terms of money, lost sailing days and fear

Dylan

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 06-21-2012

Minnewaska will become famous soon enough Minnewaska will become famous soon enough
Re: Lobster pots

Since this install, its cost me zero. I did hit a lone ranger about 30nm offshore from Boston last year in over 200 ft of water. How would have expected that? Went immediately to neutral. As soon as I put her back in gear, I heard a clunk and the float came out the side of the boat.

Spurs Marine Line & Net Cutter Systems

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Jeanneau 54DS

In the harsh marine environment, something is always in need of repair. Margaritas fix everything.
Old 06-21-2012

MastUndSchotbruch is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by dylanwinter1 View Post
I have been doing KTL for five years now

Over that time I have got caught up in fishing gear - or the drifting remains of fishing gear - three times