Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2012

pturner is on a distinguished road
Sailing in Beaufort SC

Hello, we recently moved to Columbia, SC and are thinking of keeping a 30' sailboat in the Beaufort area. We visited there recently and was surprised to find out that they have 8' tides. Having kept a sailboat in Mobile Bay, I have little experience with sailing in an area with these kinds of tides. If you have or are currently sailing in that area, can you provide thoughts on the challenges the tides might present, e.g., docking, locations for anchoring, tidal currents, etc.

Thanks!

Phil Turner
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-26-2012

Irunbird is on a distinguished road
Re: Sailing in Beaufort SC

I hope someone who actually lives there will chime in, but I can't imagine it's much different than Charleston (where we live), except for the current- I would bet you have current that moves more closely to that in Bohicket, which approaches 5 kts (we have 3 at best). All that means is that it depends on which way the current is moving relative to your dock. Where we are, we get challenges just about every time we come back in, and trying to judge wind relative to current has been some of the most valuable lessons we've learned here. We're just more careful coming into the marina where winds can be unpredictable, especially coming in under sail alone. I drifted into a friend's 50 ft Able-Apogee because the current kept moving us when the wind stopped.. Once you've got the hang of it, this is an incredible place to sail- dependable wind, and it's comfortable sailing all year long.

Ray
Old 06-28-2012

pturner is on a distinguished road