SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Learning on a cat? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/89387-learning-cat.html)

oneshotonekill 07-06-2012 07:02 AM

Learning on a cat?

Okay folks; here's the deal. I'm learning to sail. I have NO experience whatsoever. I've been reading and watching videos like mad. I've joined a local sailing club about a week ago. The end goal is a cruiser for all oceans similar to a Manta 42. I have owned a 27friend foot Primate, and I loved that boat.

Question is, would I be doing myself a disservice by learning on a Hobbie or BeachCat vs. a dingy. I can always make the change when I've worked my way into a mid 30's boat.

Admins, please feel free to put this thread wherever it fits best.

Happy sailing,

One Shot One Kill

pdqaltair 07-06-2012 08:25 AM

Re: Learning on a cat?

I think EVERYONE should lean on a small boat, cat or mono.

Sail Delmarva: The Merits of Learning to Sail on a Small Boat

It's fun and you learn the feel of the wind and waves without the boat insulating you. You will learn the bigger boat stuff later.

The fun is sufficient reason!

Jonathan Dunlop 07-06-2012 08:36 AM

I like it.

jsaronson 07-06-2012 09:10 AM

I agree. Learning to sail on a big boat is like swimming in a wetsuit. You're in the water, but you don't have the feel and don't appreciate the subtle changes in wind and waves. Welcome aboard!

TropicCat 07-06-2012 09:16 AM

I learned to sail on a sailing dinghy. I didn't get my first sail on 2 hulls ( a hobie cat ) until I was in my 30's and didn't buy a catamaran until my 50s.

Learn on a small sail boat and work your way up.

oneshotonekill 07-06-2012 09:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pdqaltair (Post 893286)
I think EVERYONE should lean on a small boat, cat or mono.