Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2004

MONOBOY is on a distinguished road
opinion: do i really need a dodger?

Hi, need assistance in deciding whether or not to buy a dodger.Do most of you guys/gals have one on your boat. I have little experience and want to know if this is a worthwhile piece of equipment .My first boat! A 1978 S2 9.2A will cruise Lake Michigan, maybe a beer can race or two, will sail in fair to moderate weather. Do I really need one?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-20-2004

Nereus32 is an unknown quantity at this point

Yes
Old 01-20-2004

hamiam is on a distinguished road

A dodger is certianly a nice addition to most sailboats as it blocks both the wind and the spray and, depending on the design of your boat, you can even sit under it and sail in the worst of weather. Addition of a dodger may require you to modify your sail handling systems. Cons would include the cost of the dodger and the install. The addition of numerous attachment points for the dodge and the possible modification of deck hardware and sail handling systems. It may also make it more difficult to get into and out of the cabin.
Old 01-21-2004

tahitisail is on a distinguished road

I have a dodger on my boat but I usually take it off except when going to the islands offshore for a cruise. I have a cockpit cover that attaches to the rear of the dodger and this makes the hot days quite comfortable. I really enjoy sailing the boat more without the dodger EXCEPT WHEN OUT IN BAD WEATHER OR AT NIGHT WITH SPRAY ALL OVER ME.

Old 01-21-2004

paulk is on a distinguished road