SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Corsair 24 Mk II as a first boat? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/90023-corsair-24-mk-ii-first-boat.html)

trevorN 07-22-2012 11:08 PM

Corsair 24 Mk II as a first boat?

I am pretty new to sailing and was recently offered a mid 90s Corsair 24 Mk II. Is this boat fairly easy to sail, or would it be a handful for someone with limited sailing experience?

Opinions?

dan catalyst 07-23-2012 12:07 AM

Re: Corsair 24 Mk II as a first boat?

they are tanks dispacing a whopping 6000 lbs and it has a 50/50 ballast ratio,so thats 3000 lbs of lead and scrap metal(yup) resined into the full length keel.it reminds me of a lighter dispacement allegra.i wouldnt hesitate to sail wayyyy out into the wild blue yonder with a boat of her leangth and displacement.you cant go wrong with it on paper,but lets see what some people who have actually owned one have to say.

trevorN 07-23-2012 12:25 AM

Just to clarify I was talking about a Corsair 24 Mk II trimaran. http://www.multihull-maven.com/Boats/Corsair_24_Mk_II

dan catalyst 07-23-2012 12:44 AM

ahh i see the mid 90's part now, yeah those are slightly lighter displacement and maybe a little faster,lol. completley differant animal i know nothing about!

FSMike 07-23-2012 12:44 PM

trevorN

A Corsair 24 can be easily single-handed if you acquire some experience. Perhaps taking an experienced multi sailor along for a few sails to start with?
Just remember, things can happen VERY quickly on a fast tri.

brak 07-23-2012 09:46 PM

I had MkI for some time.

Very lightweight boat. In my experience, it is great for sailing in calm seas with decent wind. The problem I encountered was that whenever wind was good - seas were quite un-calm, and when seas were calm - there was not enough wind.