Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-23-2012

FredMcIntire is on a distinguished road
Decisions, Decisions, Decisions.... Your Input Please

I'm new to sailing and I'm looking to purchase my first sailboat. I think I have almost narrowed it down to the short list. I'm wanting to purchase a small pocket cruiser. One I can trailer, since I live in Indiana, yet one that is sturdy enough to do some coastal cruising if I so choose. Here's my list:

1. Com-Pac 16.
2. Montgomery 15.
3. West Wight Potter 15.

I really like the Com-Pac 16 with its shoal keel design. I like the Montgomery 15; however, I question whether it is large enough to be comfortable for a weekend sailing trip. I'd move up to a Montgomery 17 but I'm afraid it would be too heavy for my little Chevrolet S-10 pickup to handle. I like the West Wight Potter; however, I really don't like its swing keel design, although this boat has gotten excellent reviews.

Your opinions and input are greatly appreciated !
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-23-2012

bnaylor is on a distinguished road
Decisions, Decisions, Decisions.... Your Input Please

Hi Fred: I'm pretty new to sailing, too; but in my opinion you should consider a slightly larger boat. Occasional over-nighters and coastal cruising will present you with some challenges with the boats you've identified. Consider something larger; but still trailer able, like a Catalina 22.
Old 07-23-2012

anthony1 is on a distinguished road
Re: Decisions, Decisions, Decisions.... Your Input Please

Hi Fred