SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Check My Plotting...

1K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  BigRed56 
#1 ·
Hello all, as a budding cruiser, I am currently studying coastal navitgation at home with the US Sailing book, and plan on taking a nav course this spring. I''m looking for a competent navigator to check my work, with relation to plotting;true to compass, factoring variation and deviation. Here are the #''s...
Compass Rose says... Var7deg30W, (2000), annual increase 10''.
My #''s- 10''x4=40 div by 60minutes =.66. New Var=7.66.
My bearing is 130T+ 7.66V =137.66M - 4E(dev)= 133.66 Compass.
Question: If my #''s are correct, should I steer a compass heading of 133, 134, or try to stay in between, (hard to do on a boat)? Do these small half a degree increments matter? Thank you!

#2 ·
While it''s important to know how you got to 133.66, compasses are graduated in 5 degree increments. And while large ships with powerful autopilots may be able to hold a heading within 5 degrees, sailboats can''t. Offshore, between large swells and wind gusts/lulls & shifts, I think holding a heading within 20-30 degrees is reasonable. After all, sailing is a fluid environment.

#3 ·
Whether you are manning the wheel or setting the autopilot, it''s as easy (or difficult) to read between the compass graduations as on them; however, normal steering errors, estimating currents and leeway, etc., will add up to a much larger tolerance than even several degrees. In the middle of the ocean, that is not important. As you approach its jagged edges, however, you need to rely on your GPS, radar, and piloting skills. I won''t give away my age by suggesting celestial navigation as being helpful.

#4 ·