SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   pointing (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/90705-pointing.html)

john shaw 08-09-2012 07:48 AM

pointing

My C@C 24 points worse than any other boat in the racing fleet - we are usually 5 to 10 degrees worse off. In previous years, a similar C&C 24 pointed well..so there is a problem with pointing on my boat. What steps can I take to correct this.

fordo 08-09-2012 08:03 AM

Re: pointing

How old are your sails? Are they stretched out at all? A baggy jib will prevent you from pointing well.

Chadfunk48 08-09-2012 08:03 AM

I'm no expert in this area for sure. But I can tell you that the other guys who are experts are going to need alot more details to try and diagnose your problem. And of course pictures always help. Some things you may want to add are does your sail shape look good? ARe you able to get your foresail in close? Is your main making it all the way up the mast? Do you use a taveler? etc etc.. But I'm sure someone else with more knowledge than me will give more specific things to look at.

Tim R. 08-09-2012 08:19 AM

Here is a list of things that could contribute to your problems:

Sail condition
Rig tuning
Helmsman
Sail trimmer
Weight distribution

BarryL 08-09-2012 08:53 AM

Great list.

Add to it:
Dirty bottom
bad prop - like fixed 3 blade or a folding / feathering prop that doesn't work properly

Barry

Quote:

Originally Posted by treilley (Post 907300)
Here is a list of things that could contribute to your problems:

Sail condition
Rig tuning
Helmsman
Sail trimmer
Weight distribution

Jetexas 08-09-2012 11:21 AM

What size jib are you using? My Starwind 27 only came with a 70% storm jib and wouldn't point worth crap. I finally put a 100% on her, and now I can close haul to just a few degrees off the wind. It's like night and day.