SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Trailering a Pacific Seacraft 34 (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/91071-trailering-pacific-seacraft-34-a.html)

dikigoros 08-17-2012 08:57 PM

Trailering a Pacific Seacraft 34

I am new to Sailnet. I am ready to buy a Pacific Seacraft 34. My cruising area is the San Juan's but I live in Oregon. A PSC 34 is about #13,200 with a 10' beam. I know there are law governing trailering a boat with a beam over 8', and I have read trailer manufacturers who sell trailers for 34' sailboats (Triad for example). But has anyone really trailered a PSC 34 or similar sized boat a distance of 200+ miles? I have a great heavy duty diesel truck that is rated for the weight. But how realistic would it be to take a boat this size to the San Juans in May of each year and bring her back to Oregon in October of each year? Any advice or stories would be greatly appreciated. Dikigoros

tommays 08-17-2012 09:21 PM

Re: Trailering a Pacific Seacraft 34

http://i565.photobucket.com/albums/s...s/P4122440.jpg

Easy trailer it all over

http://i565.photobucket.com/albums/s...1_06270008.jpg

not so much and high stress

http://i565.photobucket.com/albums/s...s/P5132464.jpg
Ordeal

Myself and a friend move are boats spring and fall and it's always nerve wracking at best and that's with a SKILLED PROFESIONAL calling the shots*

ParadiseParrot 08-17-2012 11:05 PM

I think the solution most people use for a craft that size is to leave it on the hard at your Marina or Boat Yard for the winter and just have it moved a few yards to the water in the Spring. What is the huge cost of the massive custom trailer going to do for you?