Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2012

dikigoros is on a distinguished road
Trailering a Pacific Seacraft 34

I am new to Sailnet. I am ready to buy a Pacific Seacraft 34. My cruising area is the San Juan's but I live in Oregon. A PSC 34 is about #13,200 with a 10' beam. I know there are law governing trailering a boat with a beam over 8', and I have read trailer manufacturers who sell trailers for 34' sailboats (Triad for example). But has anyone really trailered a PSC 34 or similar sized boat a distance of 200+ miles? I have a great heavy duty diesel truck that is rated for the weight. But how realistic would it be to take a boat this size to the San Juans in May of each year and bring her back to Oregon in October of each year? Any advice or stories would be greatly appreciated. Dikigoros
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 08-17-2012

tommays will become famous soon enough
Re: Trailering a Pacific Seacraft 34

Easy trailer it all over

not so much and high stress

Ordeal

Myself and a friend move are boats spring and fall and it's always nerve wracking at best and that's with a SKILLED PROFESIONAL calling the shots*

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1981 J24 Tangent 2930
Tommays
Northport NY

If a dirty bottom slows you down what do you think it does to your boat
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by tommays; 08-17-2012 at 10:24 PM.
Old 08-18-2012
Banned

ParadiseParrot is on a distinguished road