Choosing a small boat for Mediterenian with some constraints - SailNet Community

Search Sailnet:

forums  store  

Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By chuck53

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2012

rasha is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Choosing a small boat for Mediterenian with some constraints

Hi everybody,
I am new to this forum and to sailing in general.
I work as a university professor in Europe and have quite a bit of free time over the summer. This got me motivated to get into sailing. I am learning at a slow pace, every year a little bit. I believe that, now, I have reached a level that I should buy myself a little sailing boat. I have no intention to sail around the world, at least not in forseable future.

These are the criteria that I would like to find in a boat and I'm having trouble finding one that is matching them:
1. I would like the smallest possible sailing boat that is able to sail safely in Mediterenian and Adriatic sea and is able to fit me, my wife and our little boy that is three years old (will be four next summer). We like a modest sea life and do not seak for some great luxury.