Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2012

Orange Beach is on a distinguished road
New to sailing - MacGregor or other is best?

hi, I'm new to sailing and need some advice. I want to get my first sailboat, and since it may be my "retirement toy" I need to get the purchase right the first time.

As I've studied the internet the MacGregor seems to be a good option for me, but I would appreciate any recommendations for other models that will fit my needs:

1. I will only be sailing in the inland waters near Orange Beach and Pensacola. I have no desire to take it into the ocean off shore.

2. I will only use it for day sailing - will never stay overnight.

3. I will nearly always be sailing alone so need something I can handle by myself.

4. Because the weather comes up fast, and I have a job where sometimes I have to get home a hurry, I REALLY like that I can put a large out boat motor on the MacGregor - I can't find another model of sailboat that takes a large motor.

5. I would prefer as much space above decks as possible, and the MacGregor seams very small. The below deck is not as important.

6. I like that I can take down the main sail by myself on the MacGregor and so I can store it in my boat house, or get it on a trailer when the hurricanes threaten.

7. I want it large enough so that it "feels stable".....probably at least 22 but no larger than 32 feet.

8. I like that I can beach the MacGregor so I can get out to fish.

9. I like the price of the MacGregor.

So, am I evaluating this correctly, or have I missed something? Anything you can tell me to help me make this decision would really be appreciated.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 08-31-2012

CBinRI is on a distinguished road