Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2012

jboat73 is on a distinguished road
4hp outboard motor questions

Hello,

I'm in the process of buying a 19ft daysailor. I have some sailing experience (ASA 101 plus a bunch of charters), but this is my first owned boat.

I have some questions on a motor. I'm going to (at least initially) be sailing in a tidal river. I'm getting a slip to reduce the time of getting ready to sail. I expect my windows of time for sailing will only be a few hours, so I want to spend as much of that sailing as I can.

I'm thinking of getting a Tohatsu 4 stroke, 4 hp, regular shaft (15") outboard with a 0.3 gallon integrated fuel tank. Tohatsu because it gets good reviews for reliability and cost. 4 hp because I expect I'll make mistakes on the tide tabels and need to motor home against the current. While the 4hp is heavier (58 lbs) than the smaller engines, because the boat will be in a slip, I think that takes care of the issue of hauling it on and off more frequently. I also want to get a new engine because it is my first boat, and I don't have experience fixing engines, so hopefully it will give me more reliability.

I don't have any sense on how far a 0.3 gallon tank will take me. Do people just carry some extra fuel in an external tank and refill the engine if needed? It seems that for the smaller daysailors, people generally aren't connecting the outboard to an external tank (and I'm not interested in doing that either). Any rules of thumb on how far 0.3 gallon of fuel will take a 19ft daysailor, against some current and maybe some chop?