SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Sailing Capital of the........ (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/93112-sailing-capital.html)

Minnewaska 10-15-2012 12:56 PM

Sailing Capital of the........

I was reading another ad that claimed to be the "Sailing Capital of the World".

The two most common I see claim the title are Newport, RI and Annapolis, MD. I've seen the Bahamas give it a shot, as well as the Virgin Island (US and British)and several more.

I admit, I'm partial to voting for Newport. I've been coming to Narragansett Bay for 25 years and know I still haven't seen it all. Within a few hours sail, there are multiple islands and even more destinations on the Bay, if you aren't up to a coastal passage. You can head down Long Island Sound or up Buzzards Bay and spend a lifetime trying to get to all the ports. You can have anything from a 5 star experience to a quiet anchorage and everything in between. And summer sailing conditions are usually ideal, absent the threat of hurricane.

While I love the Annapolis area, it seems all admit that the summer is hot, humid and has light wind.

So, let's hear where you believe is the Sailing Capital of the World. I'm sure our international friends aren't going to just let the US run away with the title.

floridajaxsailor 10-15-2012 01:09 PM

vote

Cape Cod

yet will never forget seeing a Sunday horizon full of boats in Newport there's nowhere like it

kwaltersmi 10-15-2012 01:46 PM

Re: Sailing Capital of the........

I suppose it's a matter of definition. Are we talking about the location with the most registered/licensed sailboats? Most regattas? Best cruising grounds? Best chandleries?

I haven't been to either Newport or Annapolis, but both seem to claim the title most often, at in the United States.

rockDAWG 10-15-2012 01:57 PM

Quote: