Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2012
Crealock 37

sailak is on a distinguished road
Reduction in anchor scope with chain use

Tonight in our Coast Guard Boating Safety course the instructor gave a "rule of thumb" that 1 foot of chain equals 10 feet of line.

His example was anchoring in 50' with a scope of 7 to 1 you would need 350' of line. But if you had 25' of chain (equal to 250' of line according to his rule of thumb) you would only need 50' of line -- 75' total rode.

I'm new to boating but have never heard this rule of thumb. I agree that chain can reduce the amount of rode needed to safely anchor but have to wonder if the advantage is as great as he is saying.

Anyone heard of this?

S/V Elnora
Pacific Seacraft "Crealock" 37 #312

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-17-2012

Stumble is on a distinguished road
Re: Reduction in anchor scope with chain use

That may be the stupidest thing I have ever heard.

Chain can reduce the amount of rhode needed in mild weather, but you still need at least 3:1, preferably 5:1. For storm conditions 10:1 is recommended in both chain and line.
Old 10-17-2012

bristol299bob is on a distinguished road

no, of course that is not right. by that logic, anchoring 5:1 in 50' of water requires only 25 ft of chain. Chain gives you lots of benefits but warping space time is not one of them :-)

I measure chain and line the same, and sleep well at night.
dacap06 likes this.
Old 10-17-2012

Geoff54 is on a distinguished road

The rule of thumb that I remember is that chain is about 10 times the weight of nylon but that example makes no sense.