SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   good quality sails? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/94111-good-quality-sails.html)

boz86 11-15-2012 09:24 AM

good quality sails?

another thread got me thinking: which manufacturers are considered good value sail makers? Not thinking cutting edge racing sails, not wanting the cheapest sails, just looking for a decent quality and a reasonable price. Who isn't :-)

I'm new to the boat owning business, so I don't know what the common wisdom is on this issue.

Thanks!

jsaronson 11-15-2012 09:57 AM

Re: good quality sails?

Bacon Sails in Annapolis, Rolly Tasker now has an Annapolis rep., North Sails Direct.

blt2ski 11-15-2012 09:58 AM

"WHAT" is or is not a good quality sail needs some more definition. Because if you are sailing y a one design boat, the rules of that boat decide what the sails will be, so that everyone is on the same page with equal sails, no matter the manufacture. Yeah I know, you said non racing sails......but a J105 sails for 1d racing are not what I would call superior sails, the J24 probably the same, decent, superior fo the cost etc......I'll beg to question that.

Then are you world cruising? does not sound like it, but if you were, Carol hasse in port townsend washington seems to make one of the better cruising dacron sails around, but you WILL pay for it. If you want a laminate style cross cut, even she admits, North or equal will be as good or better than hers for less cost!

more than one way to look at it.

marty

boz86 11-15-2012 10:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jsaronson (Post 948766)
Bacon Sails in Annapolis, Rolly Tasker now has an Annapolis rep., North Sails Direct.

thanks, been in there shopping for other things.

boz86 11-15-2012 10:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by blt2ski (Post 948767)