SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   engine change out (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/94127-engine-change-out.html)

Richard Donovan 11-15-2012 04:53 PM

engine change out

Hello. I'm new to sailnet and have a project to share. I'm going to replace my old yanmar 3qm30 (32 years old) with a new yanmar 3ym30 in my 1979 C&C 36. Anybody out there done it or similar and have wisdom for me? I began trying to fix my old motor when it suddenly wouldn't crank after I replaced the motor mounts due to excessive vibration only in forward gear. Also ran rydlyme throuogh engine for 3 hours with a transfer pump. Mechanic says exhaust was plugged and raw water has been getting in cylinders for some time. After exhaust manifold was remachined for almost what a new one would cost, I got news that complete valve job would be next to the tune of another $1400. Then we'd be able to see if cylinders would make enough compression to get me by for a while. I pulled the plug and said enough. Thanks for any help.

chucklesR 11-15-2012 05:05 PM

Re: engine change out

Unless you are stuck on Yanmar's I'd suggest you look around at other engine manufacturers. I've heard lots of good about Beta Marine for example - they are made in the UK, using a Kubota base.

That means there is a ready made list of parts that are not 'marine' priced because Kubota makes tractor engines.

Check this thread out : http://www.sailnet.com/forums/diesel...-please-2.html

chef2sail 11-15-2012 05:20 PM