SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Need advice from cruisers

3K views 26 replies 19 participants last post by  travlin-easy 
#1 · (Edited)
Id just like to ask, How'd you Do It? I'm slowly prepping for cruising but, at times, it just seems overwhelming. I have the boat that I'll be using which is a Morgan 33 OI. The boat is in pretty good shape and I've been sailing her for 2 years now. I've been sailing for about 10 years altogether. I won't be leaving for at least another 4 years. At which time, I'll be able to collect a small pension which, should be enough to keep me going. I know 4 years sounds like a long time but, it seems like there's no limit to the things I need to do before leaving. My question is: did you just get to a point where you felt you've done the best you could and shove off? I don't want to fall into that rut where, I never feel prepared and, never end up leaving. Any advice would be greatly appreciated .
Jeff of Gypsea

#2 · (Edited)
A fool and his life are soon parted.

I met a guy the other day who has been fixing his boat for the last 10 years.
He says he is about to leave.

Ho Ho.

If you are retiring in 4 years and really can not retire earlier then organize yourself so you can leave in 4 years and 1 days time.

There are many out here cruising. But there are vastly more who are wasting their lives pretending to get ready.

We are out here doing it and not waiting for you, nor others, to get out here too.

If that sounds harsh, let it motivate you. :)

Mark

#3 ·