Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2012
Tundra Down

downeast450 is on a distinguished road
NY Boat Show? January 3-6, 2013

Friends,

The last time I attended the boat show in NYC it was held in the NY Coliseum and I was a freshman in college. (I still have the scuba tank I purchased on that trip and it just tested.) The Admiral and I will be hosting Christmas for 5 adult children and families this year in Brunswick, ME. Can't wait! After we recover from New Years we are planning an escape to NYC on the new train that now serves us here in our town. The N.Y. Boat Show is on our list of options. How would you rate the show?

Down
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-10-2012
Captain Obvious

Sal Paradise is on a distinguished road
Re: NY Boat Show? January 3-6, 2013

I've been several times in the past 20 years. Its good. Javits center is a short cab ride from Grand Central. Its a big show, mostly power boats I think but its a fun day of dreaming and worth the ticket money. Grand Central is worth seeing itself and there are some great places to eat there as well.
Old 12-10-2012

CatalinaRob is on a distinguished road

Well, you are asking / posting on a sailboat forum here -- there are little to no sailboats at the NY Boat Show in NYC. Catalina and Hunter were the last 2 sailboat exhibitors that I can remember and I go every year. Last year, no mid or large Sailboat exhibitors were there -- all power boats and accessories. There were maybe a couple of small dingy sailboats on the sidelines. I go ever year because I am close to the show and my kids enjoy going in and out of all the larger boats. I generally enjoy anything-boating so its fine on a very general front but not much there for the avid sailor. Lots of power boats in the 22-32 foot size.