Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2012

Kalina-Lona is on a distinguished road
Reassurance and your thoughts?

Hello All,
There are always new threads talking about "New to Sailing" and I'm new to sailing as well. We will begin the adventure this spring in our 1981 Halman Horizon 27. All these threads talk about, can I learn myself and is this the right thing to do!
Is it really that much hard work and no you shouldn't buy a boat first. These seem the most common replies. For me, its always been our dream and now the opportunity is here. It doesn't mean that we think we can sail anywhere, but we can enjoy the experience and learn slowly about our boat and the techniques req'd.
So, is it the right thing to do?

Cheers,
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-12-2012

drhoward20 is on a distinguished road
Re: Reassurance and your thoughts?

great do some reading take a sailor along the first few sails
Old 12-12-2012

MarkofSeaLife is on a distinguished road

Sailing is not difficult. The Vikings could do it. Even the Americans were able to win the Americas Cup a few times.
Just get out there and give it a go and try to find the enjoyment, not the bad bits.
ShoalFinder likes this.

Carl's Sail Calculator now at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 12-12-2012

chucklesR is a jewel in the rough chucklesR is a jewel in the rough chucklesR is a jewel in the rough

I bought the boat then learned to sail it mostly from books, and one friend that knew how to sail but was dyslexic and all get out and couldn't read the books