Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2004

tauras is on a distinguished road
gaff rig

I now have a 52'' cutter with a lot of open water experience. I am looking to purchase a 50'' gaff rigged schooner of which I have no experience.
What''s involved in sailing with a gaff rigged
setup?
Thanks
Ray
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-09-2004

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about
gaff rig

I really enjoy sailing on gaff riggers. They require a completely unique set of skills to sail well. They can be extremely challenging in changing conditions or a seaway but that challenge is what makes them a lot of fun to sail.

Unlike more modern rigs, gaff rigs are quite dynamic, changing sail shape with each roll of the boat. As a boat rolls the boom lifts and moves toward the centerline of the boat and with the additional sail cloth in the leech of the sail, the gaff sags off to leeward further. The result is a sail that has too much twist during part of the cycle, with the head over eased and the foot over trimmed. Proper sail trim can make a big difference in the performance of the boat (both speed, heel angles, and motion comfort), and so care should be taken to try to find that ideal middle setting.

In changeable conditions, the comparatively large stretch in the halyards, the fact that the geometry of the peak halyard changes relative to the throat halyard as the sail is eased, and the previously mentioned dynamic nature of a gaff sail, means that halyard adjustments (typically peak halyard) are very critical and need to be made quite frequently in changeable conditions. Failure to keep up with the adjustments can result in fairly large differences in speed.