Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2013

MSO sailor is on a distinguished road
Yanmar in a 25'Tall rig

I'm getting a 1978 25' O'day tall rig & it has a yanmar 1GM diesel in it. Over all the boat is in great shape & just needs a normal good cleaning. The one thing that concerns me is the engine.It doesn't have many hours on it but it hasn't been started in about 7 yrs!! I'm suppose to go over tomorrow & try & start it.
Is there anything special i should look for? I'm a experienced mechanic but not familar with this engine at all.It seems simple but tough to work on.Its in a bad spot.
Next question if its shot is there any other engine i can replace it with? I noticed that it seems that if it was removed from the gear box a adapter plate can be made with a adapter coupler to run any small air cooled type engine with a vertical shaft.( providing ventilation of course.)
Does anyone know of anyone who has done this? all my "engineering/ mechanical" skills has been in auto & industrial equipment. But i know what i'm doing!!lol
Thanks for any input anyone can give
MSO
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-09-2013

HUGOSALT is on a distinguished road
Re: Yanmar in a 25'Tall rig

Should have a decompression lever on top of motor, after you change
Your fuel and oil filter and replace
Fuel with fresh diesel you will be able
To turn by hand before starting.
If does not start at first close yourraw water
Intake as continuous cranking can
Flood cylinder with water.
Sorry using phone.
Old 01-09-2013

bljones has a spectacular aura about bljones has a spectacular aura about

A Yanmar 1GM may be one of the simplest, most efficient small engines on the planet.
here's what i would do:
1. beg or borrow a manual, or service manual if you can get it.