Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2013

Bombay is on a distinguished road
Leaseshare in Chicago - Thoughts?

I am new to the sport of sailing (1 full season). I have a wife and two small active boys ages 9 & 7. Summer sports and all that goes with it. Last summer I was strongly considering and looking into buying a trailer sailer in the 16 - 19 foot range, but I kept getting cold feet wondering 1) how often will I be able to use it, 2) how big of a pain is it going to be to tow, set up, take down afterward and tow home, and 3) hidden costs.

Now I have been looking into leasesharing options in downtown Chicago marinas. It appeals to me because 1) all in one cost in very budget friendly (under $2,000) options, 2) no towing/raising the mast, etc, 3) bigger boat (27' catalina), 4) downtown chicgao/lake Michigan, 5) If sailing doesn't fit my family I only have a one season commitment. If we like it, we can continue with the leaseshare or look at other options.

The leaseshare price comes with lessons on this bigger boat and bigger lake.

I'm wondering if anyone has any thoughts on this. Particularly coveats that I am not thinking about because I'm dreaming of warm sunny days sailing with the city skyline as the backdrop.

Please talk me out of it if you think leaseshares are a bad idea.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-26-2013
Tartan 27' owner

CalebD will become famous soon enough
Re: Leaseshare in Chicago - Thoughts?