SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

sailing a spiritual experience

2K views 20 replies 17 participants last post by  JonEisberg 
#1 ·
I have asked this question on other fora

I myself do not believe in the hairy man in the sky

I am an ag engineer who has ended up as a hack and a cameraman

but sometimes while sailing solo I have been so overcome with the perfection of the physics and fluid dynamics going on around me and this miraculous organic machine that I get close to having a spiritual experience

I can feel a blog coming on and would welcome your thoughts

Dylan

PS I did pose the same question on a mobo forum and was told that I was a bit of prat (I paraphrase for the sake of brevity and decency)

#2 ·
I think most of us have a religious need as part of our human nature, and look for something to fill it. Thus all the searching.

For me it was and is religion. For others it could be the beauty of nature, or of the precision of science, reflected in what we see, hear, and feel. Sailing is likely one of those reflections.

This is as complicated as my thinking gets.

#3 ·
I think everyone has their own reaction of sailing, nature, beauty, etc. Here is a non-theist Quaker's thoughts (not my words):

As 24 year old George Fox sat by the fire one morning in the Vale of Belvoir, he wondered if "All things come by Nature." I would reply, "Yes, they do and what a marvelous world it is!" I love nature above all else. The world known to our senses and the inferences we draw by reason and intuition are enough for me. Our intimations of the divine, our spiritual natures, our creative insights and the urge to love - these all exist and are important, but they are natural phenomena, they are humans responding to their environments.

#4 ·
Hey Dylan, nice to see you, so to speak.