Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2013

blakeyoung is on a distinguished road
old sails?

I recently bought a 1985 Catalina, and I'm fairly certain that the sails I have are the originals. No matter how much I trim in or let out the sails and no matter what direction the wind is coming from, the leech of my mainsail always flutters. I am new to sailing, so I don't know if this is normal. Is this the sign of an old, worn out, and stretched sail that needs to be replaced?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-12-2013

capttb is on a distinguished road
Re: old sails?

Yes, but some of the flutter can be eliminated by the "leech line" a small diameter line somewhere along the leech that can be tightened.
Old 02-12-2013

Stumble is on a distinguished road

Blake,

Two things...

1) the leech line on the main likely needs to be tightened. At the clew there should be a small string coming down the leech of the sail attached to a small cleat, rings, ect. Tightening this up should help.

2) at anything over 5ish years a sail that is used regularly is going to have lost a significant amount of its original shape. The only real solution here is to replace the sails with something newer.
Old 02-12-2013

schelli is on a distinguished road

Just check your leech line.
Old 02-12-2013
Barquito

Barquito is on a distinguished road