Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2013

Location: Oceanside, CA, sail out of Del Mar Marina Camp Pendleton
Curt Hopkins is on a distinguished road
Loss of Steering

I am new to sailing and currently taking an advanced seamanship class that will be followed up by a navigation class, here at the Del Mar marina, Camp Pendleton, CA.
I am searching for any input regarding "loss of steering". Any information is appreciated. Thank you
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-27-2013

johnnyquest37 is on a distinguished road
Re: Loss of Steering

What about it? Causes? Responses?

LET'S GET SERIOUS ABOUT REMOVING POLITCAL TAG LINES -- NOW!
Old 02-27-2013

overbored is on a distinguished road

row boat or oil tanker? the procedures could be bit different
Philzy3985 likes this.
Old 02-27-2013

Thank you for the quick response. this is in regards to sailing. I am assuming that there are many causes, from equipment failure to a fouled rudder from kelp to picking up some sort of netting, lines etc. Immediate responses while sailing in a channel and/or restricted waters are my first concerns. Your thoughts?
Old 02-27-2013

chef2sail will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to chef2sail

Loss of power causes a lot of loss of steering. Without the motion of the boat going through the water the rudder doent work.

It is one of the most counterintuitove issues with jet skiers. When they get in a bad situation they tend to power down or shut off the throttle causing them to lose control of the steering of the jetski

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(photos by Joe McCary)
Charter member of the Chesapeake Lion posse

Our blog-