Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-30-2013

linapark97 is on a distinguished road
Keel Help!

Alright I'm a student designing a boat on the computer and it has to have the jest of the boat. None of the complicated scaling and measurements have to be on the design, but I was wondering if a full keel gives better stability than a fin keel. My boat is just supposed to sail to a designated location, its focus is not speed but stability since it its supposed to anchor down. Basically its supposed to be a kitchen boat so the cabin is mostly a huge kitchen that you can enjoy your time cooking more professionally. So a full keel or a fin keel? Regarding sails, it has a main sail and a jib. The dimensions are 8 feet high, not including the mast, 45 feet long, 8 feet wide, and the mast is 36 feet high. I have no clue what the hell I am doing to be honest, I just want to get this over with so please help!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-30-2013
Lies about her age

deniseO30 will become famous soon enough deniseO30 will become famous soon enough
Re: Keel Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by linapark97 View Post
I have no clue what the hell I am doing to be honest, I just want to get this over with so please help!
Suggestion; Join the boat design and wooden boat forums.

Which software are you using?

my current "project"!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 03-30-2013

linapark97 is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by deniseO30 View Post
Suggestion; Join the boat design and wooden boat forums.

Which software are you using?
Google Sketch Up. It restricts many aspects of my design.
Old 03-30-2013
Junior member, rest old