Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-14-2013

hallucination is on a distinguished road
Gen-set vs. engine

I know this post probably falls into the "newbie" category, but this is the first GEN-SET equipped yacht for me. so yes...I am a newbie

I have a fischer Panda 4200 for the genny, and a volvo penta 95HP for the main.

What are the pros and cons of using one or the other for ship board systems/charging? The main engine is quite a bit more quiet than the genny, so I am tempted to use the main with the 3000w inverter for (be easy on me here) the wife's hairdryer, coffee maker and blender. And save the Genny for when AC is absolutely really needed.

I suspect that they both will only last a certain amount of time and cost 4 times as much as one would think to fix either one of them. The Panda does seem to be more intricate "in other words, breakable". where as the engine is much more "industrial"

I have not had time to really see fuel use at idle for the main, vs fuel use at 3000 watts with the genny.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 04-14-2013

Zanshin is on a distinguished road
Re: Gen-set vs. engine

Diesel engines like to be run under load and generally should not be run with little-to-no load. Using your main engine to charge the bank will only use a portion of the engine capacity. 3000W equates to 250A at 12V, even if your alternator could supply that you would need to rev the main engine up in order to produce that - using a purpose-built generator instead of the main engine makes sense. A 4200, derated for real-life temperatures, will produce enough to charge the batteries at 80Amps while the hairdryer is going.