Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2013

alexanderslat is on a distinguished road
Solo From Aus to Thailand via png

I am currently considering a journey from queensland to thailand via png, I have plenty of boat experience but 0 sailing. so i am likely to join a sail club and begin. also have been looking at the seawind 24' catamaran... a few questions,.. would a year be enough time to prepare for such a journey (sailing experience wise), how long roughly would this take,. would this vessel be suitable seen as the longest stretch of water that would be undertaken is roughly 150km, any suggestions/thoughts on the topic would be greatly appreciated ..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 04-18-2013
Bristol 45.5 - AiniA

killarney_sailor is on a distinguished road
Re: Solo From Aus to Thailand via png

If your main idea is to get to Thailand you might consider going with the Sail Indonesia rally that leaves from Darwin. The longest leg is from Darwin to Timor, something like 400 miles. We found the coast of northern Queensland to either have no wind or 30 knots from the south. Once you get into Indonesia winds tend to be very light in many places so you need a reliable engine and good fuel range. The bureaucracy for entry to Indonesia is extremely complex which is why so many people go the rally since the organizers look after the paperwork.

Don't know the boat you are talking about, but it would seem to me that a 24' catamaran would not have the load carrying capacity you would want to have.